Top Menu drop graphic

The Inaugural Class of the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame

Alabama Writer's Hall of Fame Group Photo
Above photo: (from left) Cathy Randall (for Harper Lee); Keller Johnson Thompson (for Helen Keller); Bert Hitchcock (for Johnson Jones Hooper); Sonia Sanchez; Andrew Glaze; Rick Bragg; John Jeter (for Sena Jeter Naslund); Valerie Boyd (for Zora Neale Hurston); Paul Devlin (for Albert Murray); Kathleen Thompson (for Helen Norris Bell); Edward Russell March III (for William March); Mary Lou Meaher (for Augusta Jane Evans Wilson).

Photo credit: Miriam Brant, University of Alabama Photography
The induction of the inaugural class of the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame was held at a gala dinner at the Bryant Conference Center in Tuscaloosa on June 8th. More than 270 guests celebrated the induction of Johnson Jones Hooper, Augusta Jane Evans Wilson, Helen Keller, Zora Neale Hurston, William March, Albert Murray, Helen Norris Bell, Andrew Glaze, Harper Lee, Sonia Sanchez, Sena Jeter Naslund, and Rick Bragg.



Content Wrapper bottom graphic